Review: Trisha Telep’s ‘The Eternal Kiss: 13 Vampire Tales of Blood and Desire’

Some of the stories in this collection I found interesting, such as Cecil Castelluci’s ‘Wet Teeth’ with its shock, rather bloody, ending, others I found a bit empty of plot/characterisation, such as Rachel Caine’s ‘All Hallows’- the main plot of that seemingly revolving around Halloween costumes and a girl looking sexy in a black leather catsuit. *YAWN.* I also thought some of the stories- i.e. a vampire hunter masquerading as a martial arts expert- were a bit bland and thin in places, but others surprised me, like Holly Black’s ‘The Coldest Girl in Coldtown’ with its cool, urban mix of contemporary ‘Big Brother’ culture, disaffected youth and the edgy glamour of quarantined vampires. I also liked the tension in ‘Angelus House,’ where rehabbing teens aren’t all that they seem. Cassandra Clare’s story- ‘Other Boys- was also a winner, and good as I also like her other vampire/supernatural series, The Mortal Instruments. Some stories I also found very funny, (e.g. ‘Undead is Very Hot Right Now’ by Sarah Rees Brennan) and I liked the tongue-in-cheek aspect of a lot of them, even if some of the humour began to be a bit jarring, with its slang (e.g. ‘best guy’ instead of ‘boyfriend’, ‘hot’ instead of ‘handsome’ etc.) Good, not too provocative so not as good as I’d expected, but overall I still wanted something with a little more…teeth.

Overall: 5.5 out of 10

Leave a Reply

