RIP Alan Rickman

 

RICKMAN1

What a week- first Bowie passed away from cancer, then Alan Rickman, one of my favourite actors, and the star of some of my favourite films of all time: Sense and Sensibility, Robin Hood: Prince of Thieves, and of course, Harry Potter. Bowie and Rickman were the same age, and both unique and singularly talented individuals. Apologies for the lateness of this post, I didn’t post this piece immediately, for- as with my earlier tribute post to the late, great Bowie- I really wanted to think about what I wanted to say. Rickman’s sudden death truly shocked me- I feel as though he really did go too soon.

RICKMAN2

I couldn’t quite believe the news of his death at first, it’s so horribly, horribly sad. What an impact Rickman left on Hollywood and the film and stage industry, though- that amazing VOICE, the Roman-Emperor face, the sheer acting ability. Death always seems to take the most talented and the most special. I will never forget him as Colonel Brandon (that voice was made to recite sonnets,) nor as Snape, the ultimate anti-hero. And who could forget his order to ‘cancel Christmas’ in Robin Hood: Prince of Thieves? Probably my favourite film ever, and he acted Kevin Costner AND Morgan Freeman out of the room.

Alan Rickman, I pay tribute to you. RIP.

 

Leave a Reply

