Exciting News- I’ve won a Writing Competition!

BIG NEWS, folks! I am thrilled to announce that I have WON FIRST PLACE in the Greenwich Writers’ Group ‘A Bump In the Night’ Halloween Short Story competition! The competition was judged blind, and the challenge was to write a Halloween-themed short story of no more than 3,000 words. I am delighted to say that my story, ‘A Strange and Bittersweet Song’, WON! This means that it will be included in the Greenwich Writers’ upcoming anthology of ghost stories, AND that it will be piece of the month in the upcoming Greenwich Writers’ newsletter. I also get a bunch of wonderful Greenwich Writers themed goodies (hurrah!) AND I’ll also be interviewed for their newsletter this month, so stay tuned! I’m absolutely over the moon to have won and very grateful for this opportunity, so thank you to the judges and to the rest of the Greenwich Writers, who are highly talented and very passionate about writing.

‘A Strange and Bittersweet Song’ was something of a departure for me- it contains no characters from ‘The Breathing Ghosts’ Series (sorry fans!) but does include creepy Victorian curios (some real, some imagined,) a genuine Victorian children’s nursery song, bloodshed, obsession and jealousy. My inspirations were Edgar Allen Poe, the Victorian period and its cult of mourning, and Frances Hardinge (in particular, her book ‘The Lie Tree’, which I have reviewed here.) Because it will be in the anthology I am not going to publish it on this blog, as I have with my other Halloween and Christmas-themed short stories (sorry!) but I will keep you all updated on the anthology’s progress. If you wish to find out more about the Greenwich Writers, (and do feel free to check out my author page too!) just click here. Information on ‘The Breathing Ghosts Series’ can be found here.

Leave a Reply

